Fifth International Congress on Advanced Electromagnetic Materials in Microwaves and Optics
Student paper competition

All student participants are invited to enter STUDENT PAPER COMPETITION. The paper, an application form and all the supporting documentation for the student contest must be submitted through the Conference website before March 28, 2011.

You have to be registered at this website to submit your paper and fill in the form for entering the student competition. This form is accessible via "Student paper competition" item in the "Participant menu" in the right pane of the webpage after log-in at the website.

During the submission procedure, the students will be asked to upload:

  1. CV of personal scientific activity
  2. An exact title of the paper submitted for review
  3. An endorsement letter signed by the student's supervisor/advisor stating that the paper is the result of student's work

The student must be the first author and the second author may be the student's supervisor/advisor. No more than two authors are allowed, unless the student has two advisors from different institutions or departments that must be explicitly stated in the endorsement letter. The student papers will be subject to the regular review process. The TPC will evaluate the applications and select the finalists. The invited finalists will have their registration fee waived. Only one paper per student will be considered. In case of multiple entries with different papers, the student will be excluded from the competition.

The finalists of the student paper competition will present their papers  at the regular technical sessions in accordance with the conference program. In addition, they will be required to present their papers again at a dedicated poster session. The members of the Steering Committee will interact with the students during the poster presentation and will elect the winner. The winner of the best student paper will be announced at the Congress closing ceremony.

Three prizes will be awarded:

  1. 350 Euro for the winner, sponsored by the journal Metamaterials published by Elsevier
  2. 150 Euro for the second place, sponsored by Wiley
  3. 2 books for the third place, sponsored by Cambridge University Press

The Steering Committee of Metamaterials 2011 had a very difficult time selecting from the many qualified candidates the following finalists:

  • Claudiu Biris, UK
  • Pai-Yen Chen, USA
  • Antti Karilainen, Finland
  • Nathan Landy, USA
  • Hassan Mirzaei, Canada
  • Basit Ali Zeb, Australia

Finalists of the student paper competition should present their papers as regular oral papers according to the program schedule and give an additional poster presentation at a dedicated poster session which will be held on Thursday 13 October, 10:00-11:30. The members of the Student Paper Competition Committee will interact with the students during the poster presentation and decide the final ranking. Winners of the student paper awards will be announced at the Closing Ceremony on Thursday 13 October at 18:10.